Artist Profile: Uhuru (The Sound of Freedom)

Uncle LooN May 11, 2014 0

uhuru picture

Uhuru is a group of four South-African artists signed under Kalawa Jazmee Records and who have been producing big hits lately. They go by the names: DJ Maphorisa (Themba Sekowe), DJ Clap (Sihle Dlalisisa), Xeli (Xelimpilo Simelane) and MaPiano (Nqobile Mahlanu).

Before signing up as a group under Kalawa Jazmee Records; Mapiano, Maphorisa and Xeli who all come from Soshanguve were pushing Contemporary African Jazz before meeting up with Clap in Kalawa and then formed the Uhuru group.

Maphorisa and Clap are known as the DJ’s and Producers, MaPiano is a pianist while Xeli is the vocalist. As a group they Sing, Rap, Dance as well as Produce music and remixes which they are especially known for.

Uhuru group pic


They have produced and remixed songs like: Jezebel by Professor, My Name is by DJ Zinhle, Khona by Mafikizolo


Click on the Disqus or WordPress icon to comment using other accounts

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...

Leave A Response »

Switch To Mobile Version